Lecture1

Required weekly zoom meeting and Ex due will be on Thursday Group1 2:00 pm/Group2 3:00pm.

Required Screening:
Post the review of required screenings on FlipGrid by Tues midnight and post at least 3 comments under other classmates’ video by Wed midnight.

Principle of Motion Graphics
12 principles of animation, 03:32
Principles of Motion Graphics, 1:30
Dynamic Shapes – Animated Shape Layer Elements 10:27

Dynamics of the Subway / Haisuinonasa, 4:21
SOTW Bumper “PRISMATIC” by Max Hattler, 0:70
Visual Music, 1:12
Visual Experiment #03, 0:52
Basic Shape Motion Graphics, 0:12
Motion Shapes, 1:37
ZKO Rollercoaster, 1:00
Traveling Lights, 1:59

Tutorials:

After Effects Demo: Getting Started (1h6m)

After Effects Demo: Rendering (6m32s)

After Effects Demo: Collecting Files for Submission (2m52s)

Additional resources

After Effects Keyboard Shortcuts Reference 

After Effects tutorials by Adobe – “Get to know After Effects”

After Effects tutorials by Adobe – “Work with compositions”

After Effects tutorial by Adobe – main menu 

AE Intro
Motion Graphics & Video Terms
: Keyframe
– A set value at a set time, Between two or more of them on separate frames
– the application will calculate values for the in-between frames
: Timecode
– The exact time of a given frame, expressed in hours, minutes, seconds, and/or frames
– Can alternatively be expressed as numbered frames only
: Codec
– A word made up of compression and decompression
– compression allows faster transmission of smaller files, decompression allows files to be viewed
: Render
– The action of writing an image or sequence of images, a video, in a format such as QuickTime
– Can also be used as a noun: “My render is taking forever.”
: Alpha channel
– The mask of an RGBA image
– It specifies how the pixel’s colors should be merged with another pixel when the two are overlaid, one on top of the other
: Green Screen
– Also called color keying or chroma keying
– A visual effects and post-production technique for composting or layering two images or video streams together, based on color hues or chroma range
: Rotoscope
– Originally an animation technique used by animators to trace over motion picture footage, frame by frame
– The tracing is done via computer-based tools to select moving footage
: Motion Track
– Also known as match moving
– Allows the insertion of computer graphics into live-action footage with correct position, scale, orientation, and motion relative to the photographed objects in the shot
: Color Correction
– Digital enhancement of the color look of images
– The goal is to emphasize the most significant physical and emotional details of the shot
: Composition
– the basic container of AE
: Motion Graphics
– The art animating abstract elements, including type, shapes, and other artwork for the purpose of creating emotion in the viewer
: Visual Effects
– Not to be confused with special effects
– The post-production art of assembling photographed and fabricated elements to support the emotional reality of a movie
What After Effects cannot do
: Premiere – specifically for editing
: C4D – creating 3D object and animation
: Illustrator – vector graphics
: Photoshop – pixel based graphics

1. Foundations
Explore the interface of AE
: New composition
: Arrange the panels, Window > Workspace > Default or reset “Default” to saved layout
The six foundations of AE
: Composition, layers, animation, 3D, effects, rendering
: Import, Double click the project panel
: Drag into either compostion or viewer
: Organize the project window with creating new folder
Understand compositions
: Create the master composition
: Composition > Composition settings
: Preview, Space Bar
Work with layers
: Open the layer view and you can trim it with opt + [ , ]
: Blending mode in Composition window, or Layer > Blending Mode
: Mask tool(pen tool)
: Track Mode, Alpha Matte
Animate with the timeline
: Animation > Keyframe Assistant > Easy Ease or RC Keyframe
: Animation graph in Composition
: Motion blur button on in Comostition
Apply effects
: Effect > Synthetics > Blue Bar
: reveal keyframes, U
: duplicate the layer, cmd+D
Basics of 3D
: Activate 3D in Composition
: Layer > New > Light
: Layer > New > Camera
: You can change view in Project window bottom menu
: Under layer, Geometry Options, Change Renderer, CINEMA 4D (there will be more options for 3D)
Know how to render
: Composition > Add to Render Queue
: Render setting, Output Module, Output to
: Output Module, Make Template
: Composition, Save Frame As